“Perfection is damn near impossible to come by and it almost
never happens. Yet somehow, someway, Ryan Martin hit that
rare pocket in time and captured perfection.”

—American Songwriter


Hudson Valley NY-based singer-songwriter Ryan Martin will release Wandercease on October 23rd via High Moon Records. It’s Martin’s most musically adventurous and emotionally authentic record, blending masterful melodic instincts with giant musical hooks and a polychromatic sonic palette. Wandercease ranges steadily from deep introspection to radiant joy with confidence and curiosity, creating an expansive and cohesive sense of mood and place. The album was born from change: Martin’s relocation northwards from New York City to the more tranquil vistas of the Hudson Valley. Producer Kenny Siegal (Langhorne Slim, Joseph Arthur, Chuck Prophet) at Old Soul Studios in Catskill, NY, went deep into the songs, finding their essential seeds and drawing from the local goldmine of musicians—many fresh from working with artists such as David Byrne, Cibbo Matto and Lana Del Rey—to grow the songs into life. One key musical presence is singer-songwriter and classically-trained harpist Mikaela Davis. Brought in to sing harmony vocals on a couple songs, Davis ended up singing and playing harp on most of the album. While not typically heard in pop music as more than a texture, Davis’ ethereal harp playing and stunning vocal contributions are perfectly situated on Wandercease, elevating its intriguing blend of homespun Americana, processed rhythms and warm electronic touches. 


The album’s first single, “Coma Kiss”, has an earworm-worthy vocal hook and an irresistibly buoyant groove right out of the gate. Under the charm lay darker sentiments about a failed relationship — but that lovely dissonance between song’s feel and the story Martin tells is part of the magic.


Originally from Los Gatos, California, Martin started writing songs when he was 14 and was soon touring up and down the West Coast as a solo artist, and with a band. After escaping to New York City, assembling a band of misfit all-stars and growing a devout audience, Martin released his debut album For All the Beautiful Losers. Extensive touring followed and, after becoming a first-time father, Martin recorded Gimme Some Light, which was released in 2018 on High Moon Records. The gorgeous ‘paint-on-glass’ video for “Real Human Being” is currently a featured selection at animation festivals all over the world.

Martin's long player sounds like an obscure small-label issue
from Laurel Canyon, circa 1974, the kind of thing that Matthew Sweet
or Evan Dando would score in the backroom of a Cambridge record
shop and stake as some sort of primal influence

  • Instagram
  • Bandcamp
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Spotify